“Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter”

It was Martin Luther King who uttered the words above. Never have they sounded with so much resonance as they do now, in the wake of the atrocious crimes being committed against women and children in South Africa during the past few months.

It must have hit a nerve now, especially because it was women’s month, but this has been going on way longer than a few months. Sadly, South Africa is not the only country faced with this evil, this has become a global pandemic. It is a nightmare that the people who are meant to be protectors and pillars of society are the ones being hands-on, in destroying it.

A few months ago I wrote an article about the younger generation not giving regard to the older generation, and I received this feedback from one of my friends.

I did not really pay attention to the comment at that time, but now more than ever it rings true. Surely the next generation is always going to feel betrayed and sold out by us if we sit and fold our hands while they get raped, tortured and murdered every day. My son or daughter is going to ask me one day, what I did about these savage attacks on women and children, I do not want to choke on my reply.

I don’t know what needs to be said or done, all I know is that silence can no longer be our loudest cry, there is nothing golden about it at this moment. Silence and inaction are the reason why evil prevails in the first place, the so-called “good men”, choose to do nothing and observe from the terraces.
I bumped into a friend’s WhatsApp status during the week, this is what it said,

then it hit me, I am not powerless, I will not sit and watch women being beaten, raped and killed. It could be me tomorrow. I will speak about it, I will write about it, one way or the other, in solidarity with other women, the message will get across.
It’s time we spoke against those who molest and putrefy our society. Fighting and taking a stand does not always involve protests and street fights.

If you can not take it to the streets, tweet about it, use your social media platforms, sing about it, paint about it, pray about it, get involved with the victims, help them heal, show them, love, hell, just do something, anything helpful.

As a woman I say enough is enough, gone are the days when we sit and watch and hope for better days, a safer future starts now, with us.

One thought on ““Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter”

  1. Beautiful and true piece right there, we ought to start speaking and voicing our silence. It’s very sad indeed that growing up we knew if there’s a man in the house then we’re not afraid of burglary. But now the men are the burglars of our bodies and our kids bodies. Thank you Cyrial for introducing the Life imprisonments but I would have preferred death penalty.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started